Wednesday, October 28, 2009


Mandaï has a couple of new titles in the catalogue:

  • jason adasiewicz's rolldown: varmint
    (2009, cd, usa, cuneiform)
Vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz’s Rolldown ensemble has a new album out."Varmint" is the band’s second release and it’s worth checking out. The album offers a fine number of beautiful melodies and excellent improvisations, all against a swinging rhythm section. The quintet features Josh Berman on cornet and Aram Shelton on alto sax, both adding nice lines and solos in Adasiewicz pieces.
Let’s call it Modern Jazz.


  • ergo: multitude solitude
    (2009, cd, usa, cuneiform)
Ergo’s "Multitude Solitude" is another Cuneiform release.
Ergo consists of trombonist and composer Brett Sroka, keyboardist Carl Maguire and drummer Shawn Baltazor, each of which have an interest in jazz and in electronic music.
"Multitude Solitude" reflects a spacy exploration, a search for melodies and sounds.


  • colin mclean & andy moor: everything but the beginning
    (2009, cd, ??, unsounds)
Colin McLean and Andy Moor both used to be part of the Scottish punk band The Dog Faced Hermans. In the early ninetees both of them moved to Amsterdam. Colin McLean started working for theater and dance companies, and Andy Moor joined The Ex.
On "Everything But The Beginning" you get to hear the soundscapes that McLean (computer) and Moor (guitar) created for a dance company.These soundscapes were completely improvised and are the evidence that the interaction between these two artists works.
Dark & experimental!

No comments:

Post a Comment