Saturday, October 23, 2021


  • the zappa early renaissance orchestra: make an arf noise here
        (2021, cd, uk, cordelia records)
Z.E.R.O., also known as The Zappa Early Renaissance Orchestra has just released a new album.
Another fabulous tribute to the music of Frank Zappa.

Master mind Kevin Crosby used the same recipe as on the previous albums: finding the correct match between the musicians and the music.
As a result, the list of participating musicians is quite impressive. It's not really one band that you get to hear on "Make An Arf Noise Here". It's different sets of musicians that present Frank Zappa's music in a wide variety of interpretations.

Do I like it?
I love it.

Just mentioning some of the goosebump moments :  Christiane Seebach & Andreas Steinhardt on 'Hungry Freaks, Daddy', Juliana Brandon on 'What's The Name Of Your Group' and 'Spider Of Destiny', Eric Trøim on 'The Mammy Anthem', John Parkinson and Sam Ward on 'Cletus', Kevin's take on 'Billy The Mountain' !

Attentive freaks might have heard some of the above pieces during the on-line Zappanale festival earlier this year, or maybe as small project with some YouTube output, but I can only say that I'm extremely happy with this collection of fine tracks !!

  1. Hungry Freaks Daddy
  2. What Is The Name Of Your Group?
  3. Zoot Allures
  4. The Mammy Anthem
  5. Status Back Baby
  6. My Guitar Wants To Kill Your Mama
  7. Spider Of Destiny
  8. Echidna's Arf
  9. Trouble Comin' Every Day
  10. Cletus Awreetus Awrightus
  11. Billy The Mountain (A short introductory hike)
  12. Outside Now (live)
  13. Make An Arf Noise Here
Out on the Cordelia Records label.


1 comment:

  1. Agreed. Great show, another great cd. - Z.E.R.O. say it loud and say it proud. What about Ike?