Thursday, May 17, 2012


  • the residents: the third reich 'n' roll
    (2012, cd, usa, mvd)
"The Third Reich 'N Roll" was The Residents' second release. It got released in 1976. Actually, it was to be their third album, but the already recorded "Not Available" only came out in 1978.
With "The Third Reich 'N Roll" it became clear that The Residents' World would not be limited to releasing music. The album cover shows TV host Dick Clark in a nazi uniform, and the music is a parody / collage / reworking of music that The Residents grew up with.
A track list might look something like this:
side one - Swastikas on Parade
  1. Let's Twist Again
  2. Land of a Thousand Dances
  3. Hanky Panky
  4. A Horse with No Name
  5. Double Shot (Of My Baby's Love)
  6. The Letter
  7. Psychotic Reaction
  8. Little Girl
  9. Papa's Got a Brand New Bag (German version)
  10. Talk Talk (The Music Machine)
  11. Telstar/Wipe Out
side two - Hitler Was A Vegetarian
  1. Judy in Disguise (With Glasses)
  2. 96 Tears
  3. It's My Party
  4. Light My Fire
  5. Ballad of the Green Berets
  6. Yummy Yummy Yummy
  7. Rock Around the Clock/Pushing Too Hard
  8. Good Lovin'
  9. Gloria
  10. In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida
  11. Sunshine of Your Love
  12. Hey Jude/Sympathy for the Devil

Re-released by MVD audio on CD.
Here's a sample !!

No comments:

Post a Comment