Thursday, February 1, 2018


Spinifex released their second album, "Hipsters Gone Ballistic", in 2013. On the TryTone label. It had been five years after their "Triodia" debut.

Next to founding members Gijs Levelt (trumpet) and Tobias Klein (alto sax), the ensemble includes metal drummer Philipp Moser, noise improviser and bass player Gonçalo Almeida and free improviser / guitar player Jasper Stadhouders. It's jazz, Jim, but not as we know it.

"Hipsters gone Ballistic" is an impressive record. It features irregular time signatures, complex structures and improvised parts.

No comments:

Post a Comment