Friday, November 22, 2019


It had been a while since I had bought one of these 'radio show' albums.
This time, it's Brest 1979.

An unofficial release by LFM.
No radio show quality, of course, but we already expected that.
Packaging is OK, the show is fine and it would have been great to have this in excellent soundboard quality, but hey...

The Brest 1979 show is also available on Zappateers. For free.


Marc Maron podcast.

Episode 1065, October 24, 2019,
Marc Maron talks with Pamela Des Barres.

No one can doubt Pamela Des Barres' commitment to the life of rock and roll. She’s known as THE rock groupie, but further distinguished herself as a writer, educator, tour guide and interviewer, all involving her life on the road throughout modern music history. Growing up in California with a love of Jesus and Elvis, it wasn’t surprising she was drawn to the charismatic allure of rock stars. Pamela tells Marc about her time with Frank Zappa, Phil Spector, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, Keith Moon, Mick Jagger, Tiny Tim, Jim Morrison, Waylon Jennings, and more, as she experienced the highs of the Free Love 60s as well as the era’s dismal end at Altamont. This episode is sponsored by and New Mexico Tourism & Travel.

-- info: Aad Hoogesteger


From Jezus Factory :

Per W/Trouvé – Cassette no 3

Kloot Per W and Rudy Trouvé combine forces for this limited edition cassette to coincide with their art exhibition. A joint HeavenHotel presents and Jezus Factory release. Limited to 100 cassettes.

Released 30th November 2019

EXHIBITION Saturday, November 30, 2019 to Sunday, December 1, 2019
MixArt gallery Sint-Martinusstraat, 101 1700 Sint-Martens-Bodegem (Dilbeek)

Kloot: “The total package will reach its peak on Sunday 1 December in the MixArt gallery when we, together with Jan Hautekiet and Mauro Pawlowski, will improvise live music on the animation loops. The music we are going to draw on and improvise around will be performed that same day by HeavenHotel and Jezus Factory Records are released on cassette. Great if everything clicks like this“.


Mats Öberg made an album, improvising over Zappa themes.
Solo piano.

As Mats explains in the liner notes:
"What I wanted to do was to make improvisations over Zappa-themes and to do it in my way, using my imagination. I didn't want to play the tunes strictly as they were written; many other people have done that before already."

The result is amazing.
Mats takes you on a journey. I couldn't stop listening.
  1. läther
  2. oh no
  3. echidna's arf / do you ever wash that thing?
  4. inca roads
  5. the black page
  6. king kong
  7. zoot allures
  8. toads of the short forest
  9. twenty small cigars
  10. uncle meat
  11. a pound for a brown on the bus
  12. ruth is sleeping
  13. outside now
I was thinking of giving Ahmet Zappa a call to tell him that this should be released on the Zappa Records label. Well, unfortunately, I don't have Ahmet's phone number and he probably wouldn't listen to me but I am quite serious: this album should be part of the Zappa catalogue.
As for know, it's available (in a limited / numbered edition) from Hans Annellsson.
Contact Hans through his website.


Ottla is one of the latest project by Bert Dockx (who you should now from Flying Horseman, Dans Dans, or his excellent solo album).
Great stuff, including superb versions of 'Epistrophe' (Thelonious Monk) and 'Lights On A Satellite (Sun Ra).


from GlassOnyon PR

Prog Rock Christmas Featuring Members of YES, Renaissance, Utopia, Focus, Curved Air, Hawkwind and others!

Special guest performance by legendary actor Malcolm McDowell!

Join producer Billy Sherwood (Yes, Circa) for an expansive musical journey through Christmas classics of yesterday and today, all performed by leading figures in Prog Rock music!

Includes gorgeous performances by guitar legend Steve Morse, angelic vocalists Annie Haslam (of Renaissance) and Sonja Kristina (of Curved Air) plus Thijs Van Leer (of Focus), Simon House (of Hawkwind) and others! Also a special guest performance by actor Malcolm McDowell!

Available on both CD in an attractive digipak and on limited edition vinyl in your choice of RED or WHITE!

Track List:
1. Run With The Fox - Jon Davison
2. Christmas Lights - Kasim Sulton
3. Carol Of The Bells - Steve Morse
4. The Twelve Days Of Christmas - Annie Haslam
5. Wonderful Christmastime - Billy Sherwood and Patrick Moraz
6. I Believe In Father Christmas - Martin Turner
7. Fairytale Of New York - Leslie Hunt and Robin McAuley
8. O Come All Ye Faithful - Sonja Kristina
9. A Christmas Song - Thijs Van Leer
10. You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch - Malcolm McDowell
11. Linus and Lucy (Charlie Brown Christmas Theme) - Geoff Downes [CD ONLY]
12. Silent Night - Nik Turner and Simon House
13. Happy Christmas (War Is Over) - John Wetton

Out on Cleopatra Records

Thursday, November 21, 2019


God in Three Persons (2020)

January 24, 2020 - MoMA - New York City, New York
January 25, 2020 - MoMA - New York City, New York

Dog Stab! (2020)

April 16, 2020 - Wonder Ballroom - Portland, Oregon
April 17, 2020 - The Triple Door - Seattle, Washington
April 18, 2020 - The Imperial - Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
April 20, 2020 - Urban Lounge - Salt Lake City, Utah
April 21, 2020 - Bluebird Theater - Denver, Colorado
April 23, 2020 - The Cedar Cultural Center - Minneapolis, Minnesota
April 24, 2020 - Lincoln Hall - Chicago, Illinois
April 25, 2020 - The Shelter - Detroit, Michigan
April 27, 2020 - Higher Ground - Burlington, Vermont
April 28, 2020 - The Sinclair - Cambridge, Massachusetts
April 30, 2020 - (le) poisson rouge - New York City, New York
May 01, 2020 - The Foundry - Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
May 02, 2020 - Ottobar - Baltimore, Maryland
May 08, 2020 - The Kessler - Dallas, Texas
May 12, 2020 - The Crescent Ballroon - Phoenix, Arizona
May 13, 2020 - The Regent Theater - Los Angeles, California
May 14, 2020 - The Chapel - San Francisco, California
May 15, 2020 - The Chapel - San Francisco, California
May 16, 2020 - The Chapel - San Francisco, California


It made me wonder.
Why did I never think of searching YouTube for "Ut Gret"+"Blessed Relief"+"belly dancer"...

here's experimental band Ut Gret (who once recorded an album with Eugene Chadbourne):

-- link: Danny Mathys


Vocalist Cian Coey will not take part in the second part of the Dweezil Zappa Plays Zappa tour.

A pity as she added a lot of spice.


A message from the Zappanale Team :

Dear Fans of Zappa and Zappanale,

it has happened, the first bands have signed their contracts for #Z31.

We are especially happy that Dweezil Zappa will perform with band and as special guest with the UH Hilo Jazz Orchestra from Hawaii. So in 2020 it works with the Orchestra.

Another Highlight of the 31st edition of Zappanale will be John Mc Laughlin and The 4th Dimension. His tour in Germany has shown, that even with 77 years of age he has kept his spirit-

Saturday night Yasi Hofer, who was brought on stage by Steve Vai at the age of 14, will whip up the party atmosphere with her trio.

Run Logan Run, a French duo, will delight us on the Mystery Stage. This band won the music award in Montreux this year.

The contract of Camembert, who named themselves after the second studio album of Gong, is already signed too.

Klang Fusion, a duo from Germany, will entertain us with Zappa Songs.

For our Kamp event we signed Velvet Two Stripes among others.

We are working flat out to sign further contracts in the coming weeks. By Christmas we want to be able to present the complete program for 2020.